Coatbridge Burgh Police


Coatbridge Burgh Police
1894 – 1967
Coatbridge Burgh Police was established on Tuesday the 15th of May 1894, 8 years after the town of Coatbridge was given Burgh status. Until that time Coatbridge had been policed by Lanarkshire Constabulary.
On the 14th of May 1894, the Chief Constable of Lanarkshire Constabulary, Wallace McHardy paraded the officers of the County force at Coatbridge in their county uniform and took stock of their uniform and equipment. He then handed over responsibility of policing to the local magistrates.
At midnight, the proper exchange took place and all officers transferred to the new Burgh force. The Lanarkshire Superintendent in charge at Coatbridge at that time was John Anderson. He was appointed Chief Constable.
At 10 am on Tuesday the 15th of May 1894 the officers once again paraded at the Burgh Courtroom, in their new uniforms, where they were formally sworn in as officers of the Coatbridge Burgh Police. Having taken the oath, they then signed a declaration of affirmation, which was also signed by Councillor Chisholm, who has administered at the swearing in ceremony.
There were 30 officers as follows:
Chief Constable
John Anderson
William Anderson
Peter Stuart
William McDonald
David Marshall
James Brown
William Loughran
James Pirie
John Forrest
Charles McBain
James Donald
George Thompson
George Scott
John Ogilvie
John Garrow
William Ewan
David Blair
George Scott
John McDonald
Alex Gordon
Robert Mather
Robert Barclay
William Simpson
George Hall
George Donald
John McKay
Finlay MacKenzie
David Young
Alexander Kirkcaldy
Alexander Chalmers
The first Coatbridge Burgh Police officers. Chief Constable McDonald front centre.
The Burgh force remained in existence until 1967 when it amalgamated with Airdrie
Burgh, Hamilton Burgh and Motherwell & Wishaw Burgh to become part of Lanarkshire Constabulary.
The first recorded numbers of officers was in 1894, which showed that the force totalled 30. In 1900 this had increased to 36. The final establishment in 1967 was 102 officers.
The Helmet/Cap badge displayed the The Burgh coat of arms which has a tower in a centre square. Above in a rectangle is a water pump. To the right in a rectangle is the top of a mine shaft with its wheel. Below is a rectangle depicting hills. To the left, again in a rectangle, is a saint holding his left hand in benediction. In the North West corner are what appear to be four arrows. In the North East corner are four columns. In the South East is a cog wheel and, in the south west an anvil.
Chief Constables:

1894 – 1911 John Anderson
1911 – 1931 William McDonald
1931 – 1938 James Irving
1938 – 1957 Daniel M. McLauchlan
1957 – 1966 Charles A. McIntosh
1966 – 1967 James E.G. Lockhart (Acting CC)