The Burghs

In addition to Lanarkshire Constabulary there were four Burgh Police forces which policed some of the towns of the county.

These were:

Airdrie Burgh Police

Coatbridge Burgh police

Hamilton Burgh Police

Motherwell & Wishaw Burgh Police

Burgh Police forces ceased to exist in 1967 when they were all amalgamated into Lanarkshire Constabulary.

A brief history of each of the Burgh forces is contained in the following sections.